Firm through the fiercest drought and storm

1 Corinthians 2:9
However, as it is written: “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him.”

So… how many times have I forgotten this in the past month? Let’s try every day. I have been really struggling lately with God’s plan for me and what I’m supposed to be doing here in North Carolina. I have prayed for months and months about a teaching job – I’ve asked God so many times, “Why did you tell me to get my teaching degree and place that calling in my life, then lead me here where I’m wandering in a desert and you’re not doing what I need you to do?” Then I remember. Oh yeah, God didn’t actually tell me I’d be teaching right out of college. Oh yeah, God doesn’t just do what I tell him to do. Thank goodness.

The eye care place called me back. I had a second interview yesterday, and was immediately asked to come back today and shadow a tech. I have gone from feeling zero confidence in this opportunity to feeling almost sure about it! I cannot ever say enough about how God has come through for us. It’s not a teaching job, but it is a job. It’s a nice job with great people. Every door that has been open in teaching has shut resoundingly in my face, but this eye care place just keeps coming back, even after I gave up on them.

I’ve been working on adding a page to the blog with mine and Les’s journey to how we came to Seminary and want to be church planters. It’s really made me see what awesome work God has done in us and through us in the past seven years. I have no words for how steadfast and strong and mighty he is. When I’m pouting and hiding from him because he’s not doing what I want him to do, he’s still Lord. He’s still working and loving and drawing me back to him. When I’m scared about moving and money and blah and blah and blah, it doesn’t matter. He’s still holding me, teaching me, and prepping me for his kingdom’s work. Thank you God that you’re not limited by my stupidity.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Firm through the fiercest drought and storm

Leave a Reply

