Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Firstly, forgive the pictures. They were taken on my phone the very first time I made them. Now, onward.
Last fall, during the Great Cookie Crisis of 2009 when none of my usual cookies were behaving properly in my oven o’ Satan, I made up a recipe for these impeccable all-good-things-0f-October cookies. Pretty much all the other cookies were turning out like bread and/or muffin tops, except without all the flavor, so I figured the heaviness of the pumpkin would force them prostrate on the cookie sheet. It worked, sort of, but the cookies were WONDERFUL. So here’s the recipe!

1 cup pumpkin (I tend to use pumpkin pie filling instead because it makes the cookies more awesome)
1 beaten egg
1/2 cup oil (I use EV olive oil, but you pick what you want!)
1 tsp milk
1 cup sugar
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla (I never follow this… I usually just do two caps full)
1 cup (or however much you want to add) chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°F

Combine pumpkin, egg, sugar, milk and oil. Add flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Stir until everybody’s happy together. Add the vanilla and chocolate chips. Stir until the chocolate chips are evenly distributed.

Drop tablespoons full onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 10 minutes.
The amount yielded will vary according to how big or small your tablespoons are.  I usually end up with 12-15.  Cookies will be soft and gooey on the inside, but will set up well enough to carry around and not drop crumbs all over your house or party.

If you make some, let me know! I’d love to hear how they turn out for you!

3 Comments

Filed under food

3 responses to “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Kennetha! That recipe looks absolutely delicious! I will add it to my repitoire of recipes for the best season to exist: fall.

  2. YUMMO!! Sounds great! Totally trying these this fall! Thanks for sharing! Miss you!

  3. I miss you too! I was thinking about you the other day… the women’s ministry at Southeastern is AMAZING. You would love it so much!

Leave a Reply

